An Open Book: Reading with the Mikes

My friend Carolyn is resurrecting the old What We’re Reading Wednesday link-up now known as An Open Book and I’m happy to join the monthly link-up. It’s nice to review what I’ve been reading, what was great and what was not so great. I’m currently in a slump of not so great books. But as I put together this post I was reminded that there were some gems that I finished in the past month and I’m happy to share them with you!

If you want to keep up with me in real-time you can find me over on GoodReads. I update pretty regularly there!

An Open Book_March

Thumbs Way Up:

Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith – This is the third Cormoron Strike mystery and it was my favorite so far! If you like mystery and are looking for a good series, check these books out for sure. I probably sound like a broken record, but I stand by my previous reviews!

Stardust by Neil Gaiman – I can’t believe I’ve never heard of this book or movie! It’s an unusual story about a boy who goes on a quest to find a shooting star and bring it back for his love. It’s a quick, young adult read that is really captivating. I can’t wait to watch the movie! I listened to this on audiobook and it was really well done.

In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex by Nathaniel Philbrick – This is another one of my non-fiction books that I just loved because it is amazing that it is true. This a historical retelling of the famous ship wreck that inspired Herman Melville to write Moby Dick. While I did not like Moby Dick, this story is astounding and I couldn’t resist telling Chris all about it. It is a little dry in places where the author gets into some lists about the crew members, but totally worth it. I think this is coming out on movie soon (or is out already?).

Love Walked In by Marisa de los Santos and her sequel Belong to Me – Another really unique story about a woman and her relationship with a young, abandoned girl. They both kind of save each other. The author’s writing style is definitely unique and the plot lines fresh. There’s lots of themes woven in about what it means to love others (not just romantically). There was a weird undercurrent of pro-choice propaganda that was distracting in both books, but other than that I really enjoyed them. Also, the main character likes to describe her life as scenes from classic movies, which I didn’t get so much since I’m not a movie buff, but this could be more enjoyable for others.

I don’t understand the hype:

Me Before you by Jojo Moyes – This is a compulsive read. I can see why this is a blockbuster hit. However, the plot line is pretty thin and the characters one-dimensional. I don’t not recommend it, but still, why the hype??? I will probably read the sequel. Also, forewarning, this book is about physician-assisted suicide.

A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail by Bill Bryson – This has been popular for awhile. I expected it to be funnier and more exciting. But instead of following this guy on the hike of a lifetime, I mostly found myself listening to his musings on environmental stewardship. meh.

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley – This was a re-read from high school. I loved 1984 then and I still do now. I thought BNW was ok and the result is the same in 2016. Some data are highly reproducible.

The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien – A memoir by a Vietnam vet. There were points that the book was painfully slow and points that it was wonderfully poignant. I would recommend if you find this topic interesting, but otherwise don’t bother.

Four Seasons in Rome: On Twins, Insomnia, and the Biggest Funeral in the History of the World by Anthony Doerr – This memoir of Doerr’s year spent in Italy is beautifully descriptive, but a bit too wordy. I loved it because I studied abroad in Rome, so it was fun to re-walk through the city. But if you haven’t lived with twins or in Rome, you may not find it so enjoyable.

Don’t even bother:

The Happiness of Pursuit: Finding the Quest That Will Bring Purpose to Your Life by Chris Guillebeau

My Name is Red by Orhan Pamuk

Agree or disagree with my reviews? What are some of your favorite reads recently? 

One thought on “An Open Book: Reading with the Mikes

  1. Thanks for linking up! And also for the reminder about the Comoron Strike series. I read the first and haven’t gotten any farther yet. Also will be looking for In the Heart of the Sea. (I didn’t care for Moby Dick either.) Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

