WWRW: Reading with the Mikes

Joining in with Housewifespice for my first What We’re Reading Wednesday.

Books in Review: Reading with the Mikes

Books in Review: Reading with the Mikes

This month I’ve gotten a lot of ‘reading’ in by listening to audiobooks while I do mindless tasks in lab, at home, or while I commute—and it’s been so much fun. There have been a couple of great books, so I’m happy to give some reviews and recommendations. I’d love to hear what your favorite book was that you read last month (or so far this year!). I’ll go from worst to best.

Acceptance

The Southern Reach Trilogy: Acceptance by Jeff VanderMeer

This is the third book in the Souther Reach Trilogy and let me say I’m glad to be done with the trilogy. It is not very good. It’s not particularly well written and the story line is tenuous. Most of the time you have no idea what’s going on and let me say at the end of the third book, I’m still not sure I could tell you what the whole trilogy was about. The gist of the series is that there is a specific land area that is unnaturally pristine called Area X. The country keeps sending missions in to Area X figure out what has caused this landscape to exist and what the purpose of the area is. I’ll leave it at that.

Eyes on You

Eyes on You: A Novel of Suspense by Kate White

This is a suspense/mystery book. The plot surrounds a TV talk show host who has suddenly begun to be harassed at work. As the pranks become more and more harmful she works to try to figure out who is out to get her before she loses her job. At some points I laughed at how terrible the writing was (e.g. the title tells you it’s suspenseful!). And I suspected who was the culprit mid-book, ergo pretty predictable. It’s fine if you just want some light summer/beach reading. There are some sex scenes and obviously, violence.

A Room with a View

A Room with a View by E.M. Forster

We read this for my book club, and it was a tough read. But when I finished it, I listened to it again because I felt like I missed some important parts. Listening to it a second time was much more enjoyable because I knew what to expect. The story revolves around a young, British woman (Lucy) who travels to Italy as part of her coming of age. There she meets a cast of interesting characters and has a risque kiss with a young man in a field of violets. In the second half of the book, you find Lucy back in England and engaged to a proper man, who is annoying as heck. The story comes to a head as Lucy wrestles with her head and her heart trying to figure out which man she loves and what to do about it. The movie is on Netflix for a faster way to ‘experience’ the book. It has a great cast. The story is definitely out there, but at least it has depth. Also, it’s a free ebook since it’s out of copyright.

The Silent Sister

The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain

I don’t know where I heard of this book but it is a good suspense/mystery book. Not a heavy hitter, but definitely entertaining. In it a young woman returns to her family home to clean out the house after her dad passes away. As she goes through his things and discovers more about this man she barely knew, she finds out her family had a much more mysterious past than she realized. She had thought her older sister committed suicide, but quickly learns that her sister may not have actually died. The rest of the book unravels the mystery of what happened to her sister.

All the light we cannot see

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

Of all the books I read, this was the most hyped. The waitlist at the library took forever. It won the Pulitzer Prize. Yadda, yadda, yadda. It was a good book. It wasn’t enthralled as I was reading it, however after I finished it I couldn’t stop thinking about the story and had to tell Chris the plot line. So it was definitely worth reading, a little slow, but really a beautiful story. Perhaps I just expected too much. The plot follows a young German boy/man and a young French girl/woman as they grow up and enter into WWII. The young man is an orphan who is a radio engineer genius. The young woman is the blind daughter of the locksmith for the Paris Museum of Natural History. Their stories and lives come together over the airwaves to create a hauntingly beautiful story.

Anne of Green Gables

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

I don’t remember reading this classic as a kid and it is such an adorable story. I loved it and am currently enjoying the second book in the series. Anne Shirley is an orphan reluctantly adopted by elderly siblings Marilla and Matthew. She’s a sensitive, loving, and smart little red head and quickly wins the love of her adoptive family, classmates, and the town. It’s so fun to read about her (mis)adventures.

What Alice Forgot

What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty

I could not put this book down. It is a quirky, original story about a 39-year-old woman who fell at the gym and wakes up having forgotten the last ten years. The last thing she remembers is being a newlywed, pregnant with her first child. Now she finds out she has three kids, is a super mom, and is getting a divorce. Confused by the mess her life is in she has to piece together what happened in the last ten years and figure out whether or not things can be put back together. There’s more depth to the story than most chick lit, but it’s just as fun. There are themes of miscarriage and infertility in the story, just a word of caution if you are sensitive to that.

So what books have you read that I should add to my queue at the library?

6 thoughts on “WWRW: Reading with the Mikes

  1. I loved What Alice Forgot as well! It hit on a few serious topics and really drew me in more than the usual “beach read” does. Have you read The Book Thief? That was one of my favorites that I’ve read recently!

    Like

  2. Thanks Roo! I’m stocking up on books right now for Liberia. I just started reading All the Light We Cannot See (Pearce’s mom recommended it). Just added What Alice Forgot to my wishlist, as per your suggestion. And just bought the Book Thief because I saw one of your friends suggested it. 🙂

    I miss you! Hope you and Chris are well!

    Love, Chrissy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

