Home at last

This post is well overdue. It’s a stormy evening, which means no swimming and a quiet evening at home with the mister. The rest of the week he’ll be gone in the evenings to rehearse and perform in a local musical, Sweet Charity. I’ll be busy swimming a lot to finish my passes before the end of the season (thanks, stitches) and watching the last season of Downton Abbey before my Amazon Prime ends this month. These are serious deadlines.

Speaking of deadlines, I ended up not turning in my grant application for the August deadline. So the good news is that the last few weeks were not so crazy with writing, but the bad news is that this grant application is going to drag on slowly until December. I’d rather either run experiments or write. If I try to do both at the same time, I end up just doing science and the writing goes to the wayside. So, we’ll see how this goes…

Over the past few weeks I completely forgot about the blog here, but then last week I remembered this lonely space and have started to collect some thoughts in my head. I figure the first thing to write about is the new house. The big move happened a few weeks ago and we were blessed to have my parents and Chris’ parents come help us move, get settled, and do some home improvement two weekends in a row. We’ve also been working on finding some furnishings. You’ll notice that much of the house is pretty bare. This is a problem compounded by my hesitancy to decorate without some critical furniture. We’re working on this. Without further ado is a photo tour of our new digs. We’ll consider these the ‘before’ pictures. Commence photo dump.

wpid-wp-1407806961056.jpeg

Our new homestead.

This is a picture from the day we moved in a few weeks ago. Funny story: This is probably the last picture of that 4Runner. Within a couple weeks the car gave up the ghost (and front underside) when my dad was using it to pull holly bushes out of his front yard. The holly bush is still in the ground and the car has been traded in. A true, sad, (and ridiculous) story. Rust was not its friend.


First floor

wpid-img_20140811_173110908.jpg

Living room. Matching blue Lazboy chairs – recent Craigslist finds! These will migrate next to the fireplace in the family room once we find a couch for this space. We had a lawn chair in here too for awhile so that we could sit down with our parents.

wpid-img_20140811_172928654.jpgwpid-img_20140811_172824836.jpg

My mom helped me unpack the kitchen. This was quite a project what with all the high cabinets and me being a shorty.

wpid-wp-1407806960609.jpeg

Hi, Mom!

wpid-img_20140811_173228164_hdr.jpgwpid-img_20140811_175017710.jpgwpid-img_20140811_175041823.jpg

wpid-img_20140811_173323368.jpg

Garage with some of recent Craigslist finds waiting to be cleaned up. This will get shelving, which will allow us to get both cars in here. Winter.is.coming.


Basement and Man Cave

wpid-img_20140811_173858327.jpg

Chris in his natural habitat. If you look closely he’s looking at furniture on Craigslist. The story of our life right now.

wpid-img_20140811_173522277.jpg

L: “Let me take a picture of you in the basement.” C: “But it’s not unpacked yet.” L: “These are ‘before’ pictures.” C: “Ooookay.” We just got him that lovely dresser yesterday for music accoutrement storage.

wpid-img_20140811_173820944.jpg wpid-img_20140811_173747841.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

Chris and my dad re-wired the dryer outlet and installed the dryer exhaust and Chris and his dad hung the lovely shelf for the laundry.


Upstairs – Chris and his dad worked hard wiring three of the bedrooms for overhead lighting, which is wonderful.

wpid-img_20140811_174033955.jpg

Our bedroom with newly-installed ceiling fan.

wpid-img_20140811_174212304.jpg

Fancy guest bedroom, now with overhead lightbulb! I promise that is the best air mattress ever and those sheets are freshly washed.

wpid-img_20140811_174232736.jpg

Craft room and library

wpid-img_20140811_174325357.jpg

All the decorations still in their boxes. So pretty.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Also, I got a new cell phone number. I’m working on getting that out to people. But if I haven’t gotten it to you yet, email me or text my old phone number.

Whew, if you’ve made it this far, thanks for virtually stopping by! Hopefully that doesn’t scare you from coming to visit. Please do!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

