A stitch in time

Stitches 1

  The thing is that when you think you can’t take much more, somehow you find yourself loaded up with yet another challenge. And, in the end, it’s okay.

  This week I was stressed out about giving my first lab meeting, training a new grad student, and getting this grant application written. I was thinking I didn’t know how I was going to get it all done. Then at the end of the workday Wednesday, I was unloading the dishwasher and a flask slipped out my hand, shattered and sliced open my pinky. My first thought was, “That looks terrible, but doesn’t hurt” and my second thought was, “I think that’s going to need stitches.” I never had stitches before, so it was as good a time as any to check that off the bucket list. Why not?

  The good thing about working at a medical center is that it was only a ten-minute walk to the emergency room. My labmate Ariel walked me over to the ER and I saw a doctor within an hour of cutting my finger. Yep, I needed stitches, but first I needed an x-ray to make sure there was no glass in it, then I would need a Tdap booster, and then my finger could get numbed, irrigated and stitched. I raced through all but the last step and waited for an hour or so to get my stitches. Apparently there was only one radiologist on call that night and looking for glass on the x-ray was not at the top of the emergency list. I did enjoy getting to read Gone Girl on my Kindle while waiting, so that was nice, I guess? So I finally got five stitches in my finger pad and was on my way home shortly after that.

Sad pinky

This is the censored picture of my poor pinky. I like it because the gauze gives the man a nice hairdo and beard.

  While I was waiting I texted Chris just to let him know what was going on, but that he didn’t need to come to the hospital. The next text I saw from him was him asking what I wanted for dinner. I laughed and said that was a good response. Turns out that was not his first response, but it was still pretty adorable.

  I think the worst thing of the whole ordeal is the Tdap booster. Oh man, my arm is hot, swollen, and bruised. By day two it is definitely more painful than my finger. The other bummer is that now I can’t swim for the next couple weeks. This is just two sessions after I was moved up from the novice lane. Boo.  The plus side is that I can use the extra time to finish up this grant. I also have a ‘get-out-of-washing-the-dishes-for-free’ card; although, Chris has already been doing those most of the time. So there’s some good.  Oh, and I got a Friday night ice cream date. I tried the caramel pretzel crunch, which was good but I still think my favorite was the lemon custard (they were out tonight).

  I uploaded a picture of the unbandaged damage below, but I’ve put it farther down the page so you don’t have to see it if you don’t want to. I hope that’s a good compromise between satisfying curiosity without grossing you all out unnecessarily. Did I mention my Dad used to call me “Grace” when I was little?

.
The damage

Franken-pinky, uncensored.

4 thoughts on “A stitch in time

    • Dear “Grace” – Those Tdap booster are very painful. At least the put it in the opposite arm. 😦
      I know ice cream fixes everyting but was it for you or Chris?

      Like

      • Yea, I’m glad it was in my right arm. It’s definitely improving. Chris did say the ice cream was my treat for getting hurt, buttttt I’m sure he wanted to get some too.

        Like

  1. Pingback: 2014 with the Mikes | Keeping Up With the Mikes

Leave a Reply

