Theme Thursday: Sports and Bruise Science

I am so uncoordinated that I am even able to injure myself in individual sports. Here’s the damage from falling off my bike while traveling at 0 MPH. #fail

biking fail

As a heme biologist, I would also be remiss not to point out what bruises actually are. When blood vessels break under the skin your red blood cells are released and break open, releasing hemoglobin. This makes a dark purple color. The heme molecule bound to hemoglobin is degraded by an enzyme to make biliverdin, which is green. Biliverdin is broken down in a second reaction to make bilirubin, which is yellow. I think I got a little bit of all of the above.  Here’s to the first bit o’ science on the blog!

Linking up with Cari for Theme Thursday: Sports.

6 thoughts on “Theme Thursday: Sports and Bruise Science

  1. I have a giant bruise on my arm from my glucose test a few weeks ago that has gradually been changing colors. I can’t tell you how happy I am to be able to tell my bruise-obsessed five year old what’s really happening with it. Thanks. (I hope yours heals quickly!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

