Sweet and Spicy Ginger Beer

Ginger Beer Infographic

One of the brews that have been keeping us happy this summer is a recipe I stumbled upon awhile ago, pinned on Pinterest, and then promptly lost amongst ALL THE RECIPES I’d like to try.

About a month ago I got a couple infuser pitchers that were seasonal at Costco. I was so excited that I came home and immediately searched through my saved drink recipes to find the perfect one to christen the pitchers. I rediscovered this one and have made ginger beer weekly since then. It’s quick and easy and actually you don’t need an infusion pitcher so I really didn’t need to wait until I finally got an infusion pitcher. C’est la vie.

So here’s how to make this heavenly nectar:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb. fresh ginger – on sale for 99¢/lb at Kroger
  • 1 lemon
  • 2 C granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp yeast  – source says champagne yeast, but I’ve used my bread yeast and it’s still delicious
  • 2 quarts boiling water – a little less to leave room for the ginger in the container

P1010572

Step 1:  Rinse dirt off ginger, chop coarsely, and add ginger either directly to your container or to the infuser basket.

Step 2: Add 2 C granulated sugar to pitcher.

Step 3: Slice lemon and squeeze into pitcher.

If you are doing this infuser-style, I recommend squeezing the lemon into the infuser basket held over the container to strain out the seeds and then drop the spent rinds into the infuser basket. If you are just using a regular pitcher just squeeze the rinds and drop them into the pitcher seeds and all. You’ll be straining it later.

P1010573

Loaded and ready to go.

Step 4: Pour in the boiling water, invert the pitcher to dissolve the sugar and then loosen the lid.

P1010575

50 bonus points to the first person to guess what’s on TV.

 

P1010576

Note my humongo jar of baker’s yeast (thanks, mom!), thus the lack of motivation to go buy champagne yeast.

Step 5: Cool until you can touch the pitcher comfortably.

Step 6: Sprinkle 1 tsp yeast into the mixture and let it incubate on the counter for a day.

I cover mine with a towel to keep the yeast in the dark and happy.

Step 7: Remove infuser basket or strain out the ginger and lemon through a strainer.

The longer you let it ferment the stronger the ginger flavor.

Step 8: Cap container tightly and store in the fridge.

I think the most common drink people use ginger beer for is dark and stormies. But we’re not that fancy. We drink it straight or with gin.

Enjoy the bubbly! 

P1010590

BTW Chris requested this post, so you can thank him! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Sweet and Spicy Ginger Beer

      • Had my first dark and stormy in CO and it was yummy. So I thought I should do something with the rest of the yeast (you’re welcome). Pitcher #1 brewing on the counter! Can’t wait for the first taste.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

